Skip to content


A Showcase of Student innovation

What is SRHackoff?

Saturday July 3rd from 1PM-4PM

This is our concluding event for Science Rendezvous Hackathon 2021 (SRHacks), with our top 5 finalists (Grades 6, 7, 8) from each competition presenting their innovations to the public audience and our esteemed judges. Come out and celebrate the talent of our next generation of scientists, engineers, and entrepreneurs. This event is open to the general public of all ages for FREE. Students and adults are all welcome to join us!


  • 1:00-1:15 Introductions
  • 1:15-1:55 Student presentations
  • 1:55-2:05 Break
  • 2:05-2:45 Student presentations
  • 2:35-2:45 Break
  • 2:45 – 3:15 Student presentations
  • 3:15-3:45 Keynote speaker: Phil de Luna
  • 3:45-4:00 Announcement of winners & conclusion!

Keynote: Fireside Chat with Phil de Luna

Phil De Luna is a scientist and carbontech innovator turned first-time candidate for political office. He is currently on leave from the National Research Council of Canada where he led a $57M Canada-made cleantech program. De Luna is an award-winning scientist and has published in high-impact journals like Science and Nature. He was a Carbon XPRIZE finalist, a Forbes Top 30 Under 30, and hosts a podcast about science and behaviour. De Luna is currently the Green Party of Canada candidate for Toronto-St. Paul’s and is running to bring more diversity to parliament and more science to politics.

SRHackoff Judges

Kathleen Miller

Kathleen Miller is the Executive Director of the national not-for-profit corporation Science Rendezvous (SR). SR acts as the marquee event for the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada’s Science Odyssey, and brings science, technology, engineering, art, and math (STEAM) research and innovation out of the lab and onto the street in true festival style for everyone to discover and enjoy. SR is hosted at 30 Universities and Colleges across Canada, all on the same day! Kathleen is passionate about inspiring the next generation of innovators, and providing opportunities to develop a life-long love of learning, and curiosity.

Bryan Ho

Bryan Ho is a former M-IFR rated commercial pilot who currently works in flight operations engineering in Silicon Valley. His current line of work involves operating a fleet of stratospheric balloons designed to expand internet connectivity across the globe. Prior to moving to Silicon Valley, he worked at a subsidiary of Airbus, specializing in digital aeronautical data and aircraft performance engineering. Before that, he held various positions in unmanned aerial system companies, ranging from engineering, operations and training. Bryan completed his Masters in Aerospace Engineering at Ryerson University and his Bachelor of Science and Aviation at the University of Waterloo. On the side, he is commissioned as a Lieutenant (Air) with the Canadian Forces Cadet Instructor Cadre (CIC) where he teaches and mentors youth in leadership, citizenship and aviation.

Anthony Zhao

Anthony is a PhD candidate in the Department of Immunology at the University of Toronto studying T cell development using high-dimensional single cell technologies and machine learning algorithms.

SRHackoff Coaches

Coaches and advisors are essential components of any hackathon to advise participants on their projects and pitches. This year, we have undergraduate and graduate students from University of Toronto serving as SRHackoff Coaches to advise top finalists in their SRHackoff presentation!

Surath Gomis

Mimi Le

Adaeze Ibik

Leanna Smith

SRHack Mentors & Project judges

Thank you to all our volunteers who were Mentors and Project Judges for all your hard work througout SRHacks!

SRhack Mentors:

  • Quinn Ha
  • Tina Ismail
  • Rocco Lee
  • Yolanda Chen
  • Richa Rani
  • Sanjeev Sritharan
  • Noor Al-Rajab
  • Safwan Hossain
  • Nawaal Fatima
  • Daniel Zhang
  • Nina Tran
  • Alvin Yao
  • Blake Ciolfi
  • Eduardo Garcia
  • Mimi Le

Project Judges

  •  Andrew Choi
  • Anthony Zhao
  • Black Ciolfi
  • Donny Chan
  • Emaad Paracha
  • Ethan Lee
  • Farhan Samir
  • Gina Chou
  • Jenan Abderrahman
  • Julie Midroni
  • Maryam Moadeli
  • Obinna Uzoh
  • Ryan Chen Tina Ismail
  • Casmir
  • Daniel Egbo
  • Gamen Liu
  • Quinn Ha 
  • Alyssa Yang
  • Annie Pu
  • Arianna Skirzynska
  • Armina Aryaie
  • Ashley Stock
  • Christopher Ling
  • Daire Crawford
  • Dwayne Cheng
  • Gloria Wu
  • Laura
  • Leanna Smith
  • Nene Brode
  • Noshin Chowdhury
  • Rainni Chen
  • Richa Rani
  • Satish Thiyagarajan
  • Tess Seip
  • Surath Gomis